Sunday, September 26, 2021

Search an F1 Keyword or Phrase:

  • XML Parsing Error at 2:32. Error 76: Mismatched tag

Renault F1 Team

Renault F1 is the Renault company's Formula One racing team. Renault has a long though intermittent history of involvement in motor racing, including Ferenc Szisz winning the first French Grand Prix, usually regarded as marking the birth of Grand Prix motor racing. Renault has competed in Formula One (originally via subsidiary Renault Sport), both as an engine supplier and as a constructor from the late 1970s to the present day, with several breaks. Renault introduced the turbo engine to Formula One when they debuted their first car, the Renault RS01 at Silverstone in 1977. Although the Renault team won races and competed for world titles, it was as a supplier of normally aspirated engines to the Benetton and Williams teams in the 1990s that Renault first tasted world championship success. Renault returned to the category as a constructor in 2001 by taking over the Benetton team, which was renamed Renault in 2002. Their first championship as a constructor was achieved in 2005; the same year that they won their first drivers' championship with former test driver Fernando Alonso repeating that feat in 2006. After Matra, Renault is only the second French constructor to win the Formula One World Constructors' Championship, and, as Matra achieved that feat with the British Tyrrell team, the only French constructor to win the Formula One World Constructors' Championship with its own team.

Renault F1 is coordinated from the team's UK base at Enstone, Oxfordshire where the chassis are designed and built. Engines are manufactured at Renault's facility at Viry-Châtillon outside Paris. As well as their championship wins in 2005 and 2006, Renault also contributed to five driver's world championships (1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997) and six consecutive constructor's world championships (1992 to 1997) as engine supplier for Benetton and Williams.

Currently, Renault F1 is responsible for Renault's involvement in Formula One; Renault's other motorsport activities are conducted through Renault Sport.

On 4 November 2009 Renault held an emergency board meeting to decide the future of the Renault F1 team, and on December 16, a majority shareholding of 75% was officially sold to Luxembourg-based investment company Genii Capital.

Full name
Renault F1 Team

Viry-Châtillon, France
Enstone, United Kingdom

Team principal(s)
Eric Boullier

Managing Director
Jean-François Caubet

Technical Director

Bob Bell

2010 Formula One season

Race drivers
11. Robert Kubica
12. Vataly Petrov

Test drivers
Ho-Pin Tung
Jérôme d'Ambrosio
Jan Charouz

Renault R30

Renault RS27 -2010


Formula One World Championship Career


1977 British Grand Prix

Latest race

2010 Turkish Grand Prix

Races competed 273

Constructors' Championships 2 (2005, 2006)

Drivers' Championships 2 (2005, 2006)

Race victories 35

Pole positions 51

Fastest laps 30

2009 position 8th (26 points)

Japan Weather Forecast

°F | °C
invalid location provided

Under Construction is currently under construction. Please check back for new features and upto date Formula 1 news.


Important: Articles on are submitted from around the internet and all content is copyright to the original writer. Articles are always credited to the source. If your article appears on and you would like the article removed, please let us know and we'll gladly remove it from the site.